UPDATE 2.08.588

Dr Goldberg

Disc4Mat

Being a new member I looked at the problems listed with the update and many mentioned a possibility of a Trojan infection.

Were any positve reports of a trojan infection true or a hoax

Much concerned

No,They were false positives.Maybe over extended to the level of a "hoax".

I have been using CCleaner for 7 months.I have never had any problems.

I also use WinXP Pro SP2 until installed SP3 in early May,2008.

Stick to the defaults as far as the Windows tab is concerned.

The Applications tab you may want to turn off and try one at a time if you are concerned. Initially backup everything you can as regards Applications you are concerned about or do it in pieces. CCleaner does not backup data that is going to be deleted.

Millions of users use CCleaner and have no problems at all. The reports you read on the forums are the few exceptions.

I am using the latest version CCleaner.

Leave the Registry cleaning to the "techies".Same goes for The Tools feature.

I clean the Recycle bin myself.

Use Options > Cookies and "keep your favorite sites cookies".

Turn off Adobe Flash Player if you want to avoid losing passwords and preferences for more "popular" sites like Yahoo, YouTube, GoogleEarth etc.

Keep Autocomplete Forms History turned off for the same reason.

Good luck Doc,

:) davey

P.S. http://www.ccleanerbeginnersguide.com/ Use the Guide often in the beginning

Edited by davey

Thanks Davey

I will now install update 2.08 etc

Hi again Doc,

I know Doctors records are very important.

Some people have had problems in the past because they or their employees were not using Office products properly.

Until you know for sure that you are not keeping records in "temporary" places,I would uncheck those types of Applications.

Remember Analyze first and if you are concerned about what you see then leave it alone.That is to say uncheck those items on the Tabs and Analyze again.

When in doubt,leave it be.