Automatic Updates

Canary

I keep getting a message in my system tray telling me I need to install automatic updates.

I let the updates install but then get a message saying: "The following updates were not installed: Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 Service Pack 1"

The next time I log on, I get prompted to install the update again, and then I get the same message. How can I stop this happening?

Have you tried installing a newer version of .net?

MSDN .net 3.x

It might work I dunno tho...

I am a newbie canary, it is just a thought. Further if there is a reason that you would want 1.x instead, could you let me know. I am learning here so treat this idiot with kid gloves....k? :rolleyes:

Most likely you are looking at this and going OMG...kid gloves, Canary, kid gloves.

Have you tried installing a newer version of .net?

MSDN .net 3.x

It might work I dunno tho...

I am a newbie canary, it is just a thought. Further if there is a reason that you would want 1.x instead, could you let me know. I am learning here so treat this idiot with kid gloves....k? :rolleyes:

Most likely you are looking at this and going OMG...kid gloves, Canary, kid gloves.

Not at all! :D I appreciate your help!

The point is, though, that I don't want that version of .net. It's just that my computer keeps telling me there is an update for me. It's not something I'm actively seeking.

• Moderators

Hi guys, I'm not sure what your update problem is, but with regards to Microsofts .net platform, you can't install any of the versions on their own.

Each of the updates is dependent of the previous one being in place. I think the sequence is .net 1.1, then a 1.1 hotfix, .net 2 and then of course .net 3.

Do you have any .net installations at the moment? You'll find them in Start > control panel > add/remove programs.