When I use the cleaning function I'm getting a popup message about Edge

Check Edge settings for the Startup Boost (aka quick start / fast start) setting and just below that the one allowing extensions to run in the background.

Both of those can cause CC to show the ‘Close Edge’ notification.

Perhaps more to the point here -
both of them are known to get switched back on during Edge updates without asking if you want them on or not.