I don't know the answer but I have 3 computers all running ver. 1.36.430. Two are Dell's both exactly alike and the other is home built. All are running winXP sp2. The home built deletes the "restore points" when Cleaner is run with a check in the box "empty recycle bin" but when the check is removed, I can run Cleaner and the restore points are retained. On both the Dells, even with "empty recycle bin" checked Cleaner works as expected and leaves the restore points in place. I can see no reason for this other than maybe just a system difference that will never be discovered.